The Council of Serampore College

The Seventh Clause of the Royal Danish Charter given by King Frederick VI, incorporating Serampore College on 23rd February,1827, as Serampore was then a Danish settlement, stated, thus, “ And We further appoint, grant and declare that the said William Carey, Joshua Marshman, John Clark Marshman, the members of the first Council, and their successors forever, shall have the power of conferring upon the students of the said College, native Christians as well as others, degrees of rank and honour according to their proficiency in as ample a manner as any other such College…” The membership of the Council was enlarged by The Serampore College Act,1918 (Bengal Act IV of 1918) of the Government of West Bengal Legislative Department, stipulating that it will “consist of not less than five nor more than sixteen ordinary members, including the Master, as the Council may from time to time determine.” The Head of the Council, which is the highest governing authority of the College, who is its President , is called Master. The Council continues to enjoy the power of conferring degrees on any subject, other than Theology, under certain conditions laid down by the Serampore College Act, 1918. At present, it confers degrees in theology only. The current Council of Serampore College are as follows:




Principal & Secretary
Council of Serampore College
Serampore – 712 201, Hooghly
Ph.(033) 2662-2322. Fax: (033) 2662-3816

Council Members :

Sl. No. Name Church
1. Rev. Dr.KavitoZhimo President , Senate of Serampore College
2. Rev. Dr. S. Joseph Andhra Baptist Church
3. Dr. (Mrs.) Sarada Devi Karnatakam Lutheran Church
4. Most Rev. Dr. P.P. Marandih Church of North India
5. Rev. Dr. Mar Atsongchanger Ao Baptist Church
6. Rev. Dr. Solomon Rongpi CBCNEI
7. Rev. Dr.Anjan Singh BMS
8. Metropolitan H.G. Dr.Yuhanon Mar Diascoros Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church
9. Rev. D. C. HaiaDarnei Presbyterian Church
10. Dr. John Abraham .
11. Rev. F. Ramdinmawia Baptist Church of Mizoram
12. Rev. Nirmal Kumar Sapui Bengal Baptist Union
13. Rt. Rev. Dr. Manoj Royce Victor Church of South India
14. Rt.Rev.Dr. Anil Sarvand Methodist Church